A letter from Mr. Peter

Our God is holy and yet He loves sinners like us , that’s so unique! 

So when life knocks us down , things are messed up , hope is all gone and we don’t feel “good enough”, “holy enough “, “spiritual enough ” to serve the living God : Hear ye…! Hear ye from Mr. Peter , the Apostle who felt the same way but yet overcame it all by the Love of Christ .

Sumeeta

Have you ever hurt someone who loved you more than their own life ? 

Have you been super crazy about someone and proclaimed you cannot live without “this” person but ended up denying their very existence? 

Have you ever betrayed a person who trusted you so very much? 

I have. 

I was Simon who met Jesus on my boat. This Jesus , came onto my boat ,renamed me and called me  Peter ,meaning : the rock ,and I have been Peter ever since. He also changed my profession from being a fisherman to being a fisher of men. 

Every Sunday school kid would know me as one of the 12 disciples of Jesus Christ! And  Most of you know me as the fisherman , the guy who confessed Jesus as the Christ , and also as the one who dared to walk on water ! Many a Biblical commentators tag me as the “Apostle of hope”. 

I Peter , heard every sermon that Jesus taught , all the miracles that Jesus Performed , I watched His life closely and have walked miles with him and journeyed with Him on several boat rides. 

Jesus said I would be the rock on whom He would build His church. I cannot express how humbled I was when I heard that. I , a Sinner , would be used by my Savior ! Oh what Joy! 

But hey , I’m also that very wretched , dreaded , faithless betrayer who denied Jesus , Not once but Thrice.

After denying Jesus thrice , I felt like it was the end of the tunnel. I wept bitterly. 

I had hurt the one who loved me most. I had denied the one whom I confessed to be the Savior. I betrayed my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ for the fear of my life.

I , Peter , Thought it was all over. 

When I thought the curtains of my life would come down , Christ Rose from the dead three days after His crucifixion , just as He had promised. 

I was told He was risen and I and my friend John ran  towards the tomb to see Jesus , the risen God! My tears were dry and my heart felt renewed. I repented for what I had done and I was now running towards the tomb as a changed man. 

The empty tomb has made me who I am today. 

If you are in a place where you feel hopeless and worthless , remember the Lord Jesus Christ used a sinner like me who denied Him ,not once but thrice. If you think you’ve messed up and fallen into a bottomless pit , rise up and run towards the empty tomb. 

Christ is Risen.

The cross on which He bled and died speaks of Unmeasurable forgiveness and the empty tomb proclaims  His unfathomable depth of love. 

Run to Jesus. Your sins cannot compare to His unfailing love. 

Repent and See the Lord turn your world upside down , just like He did to me: Peter , the man who denied Jesus Christ , not once , but thrice.

Leave a comment